An extensive nationwide search culminated in naming Dr. Robert Robbins as the 22nd president of the University of Arizona.

In April, the Arizona Board of Regents approved the contract of Robert Clayton Robbins, M.D., as the 22nd president of the University of Arizona. The vote followed an extensive nationwide search for the next president of the UA.

Chaired by Regent Bill Ridenour with Regent Ron Shoopman as vice chair, the UA Presidential Search Committee conducted an inclusive process that included voices and representation from UA leaders, students, faculty, alumni, community colleges, business leadership, Native American tribal government leaders and more. The committee was tasked with vetting potential prospects and providing recommendations to the board.

Most recently, Robbins has served as the president and chief executive officer of Texas Medical Center, considered the largest medical center in the world. His past experience also includes his tenure as professor and chairman of the Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery at Stanford University School of Medicine, where he was the founding director of the Stanford Cardiovascular Institute.

As UA president, Dr. Robbins will also serve on the ABOR Enterprise Executive Committee along with ABOR President Eileen Klein, Arizona State University President Michael Crow and Northern Arizona University President Rita Cheng. Under the governance of the board of regents, the EEC is the executive leadership team responsible for management of the universities and implementation of the board’s strategic plan.

Read more in “Envisioning a Bold Future,” a brochure that detailed the opportunity for the UA’s 22nd president and required leadership qualities for the position.